Frequently Asked Questions

What is Triage?

Triage is an iPhone app for people who struggle to stay on top of their emails. It doesn't try to replace your desktop email client, but lets you use your downtime to quickly remove the noise and stress.

Your new messages appear as a stack of cards. Simply flick messages up to archive, or flick them down to keep in your inbox for later. You can also tap a message to view its full contents, and compose a short reply.

Is Triage secure?

Triage stores email account login and password information securely in the iOS keychain. All IMAP communication is done over a secure connection. Triage does not store any user information or message content on our own servers – the app communicates directly with your email provider.

How can I get Triage?

You can download Triage on the .

I can't sign in to my Gmail account. What's going on?

We recommend signing into your Gmail account using an application specific password.

What kind of email accounts does Triage work with?

Triage requires an IMAP email server that supports SSL (TLS) – this includes most popular email services like Gmail, Yahoo! Mail, and iCloud Mail. We don't support email providers that only support POP, or Microsoft Exchange accounts that require ActiveSync.

Triage requires an SMTP email server that supports STARTTLS.

Does Triage work with Microsoft Exchange?

Triage will work with some Exchange servers, but it depends on how your administrator has set it up. We don't support the Exchange ActiveSync protocol. However, if your administrator has configured Exchange to support IMAP over SSL, Triage should work fine. Please contact your Exchange administrator to confirm this.

Why are my email messages not showing in Triage?

Triage only shows you new, unread messages that have not yet been triaged. When you flick a message up or down in Triage, it will no longer show in your stack of messages.

By default, Triage shows unread messages you have received in the last 7 days. You can change this to 14 days, 90 days, or all unread messages, in your account settings.

In what order does Triage show my messages?

Triage shows you your oldest messages first. We believe that triaging your oldest messages first is the most efficient way to stay on top of your inbox.

Does Triage provide options other than 'Keep' and 'Archive'?

Instead of archiving emails, you can alternatively delete them or mark them as read. You can change this option from your account settings by tapping the gear button at the top right, then tapping the blue arrow on the account you want to change.

I can't sign in to my account because of an "archive folder" error. What's going on?

Your IMAP service likely places a restriction on folder names. Please refer to your mail provider's documentation for a suitable archive folder name, and enter it in the Archive Folder field of your Triage settings.

My question wasn't answered. What should I do?

Please get in touch with us by email or on Twitter, and we'll try our best to help.